Commission Decisions

Summaries of the Sunset Commission's June 22 decisions are now available. 

Texas Board of Architectural Examiners

Public Input Form

Assist us by providing your thoughts about problems and solutions for an agency.

Agency History

Former Agencies

Historical Notes

During the 66th Legislative Session in 1979, Senate Bill 551 combined Texas State Board of Landscape Architects with the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners.

Previous Sunset reports on this agency

  • 2002-2003 Review Cycle, 78th Legislative Session

  • 1990-1991 Review Cycle, 72nd Legislative Session

  • 1978-1979 and 1980-1981 Review Cycles, 66th and 67th Legislative Session

  • Next Review Date: 2024-2025 Review Cycle - 89th Legislative Session

  • Last Review Cycle: 2012-2013 Review Cycle - 83rd Legislative Session

Sunset Documents for 2012-2013 Review Cycle, 83rd Legislative Session

Legislative Documents

Final Results of Last Sunset Review

The following material summarizes results of the 2012–2013 Sunset review of the Board, including statutory changes made through House Bill 1717 (83R) and a management action directed to the Board that did not require statutory changes.  For additional information see the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners Sunset Final Report with Legislative Action.

Continuation

  • Continues the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners for 12 years.

Licensing

  • Eliminates the grandfather provision for registered interior designers who have not passed the registration examination by requiring them to do so by September 1, 2017 to continue to renew their registration.  Specifies that the registration examination is the examination adopted by the Board and in effect on January 1, 2014.
  • Directs the Board to measure the effects its customer service and outreach efforts have on licensing and enforcement.  (management action – nonstatutory)

Registration and Enforcement

  • Clarifies that the Board must assess the $200 professional fee at initial registration and renewal for all three regulated professions.
  • Requires the Board to conduct fingerprint-based criminal background checks of applicants and licensees with active licenses.
  • Clarifies a requirement for the Board to use only its own renewal fee when calculating penalties for late renewal.
  • Authorizes the Board to apply administrative penalties per violation per day.