You are here

85th Legislative Session

Sunset During the 85th Legislature

The Sunset Commission has completed its interim work, adopting 371 recommendations on the 24 agencies under review.  These changes aim to improve agency operations, use available funds more efficiently, and better serve the people of Texas.  Sunset recommends continuing 14 agencies, abolishing and transferring the functions of the Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners, and consolidating four behavioral health boards into one agency to minimize duplication and address serious gaps in quality of regulation and public protection.  Overall, the Sunset Commission’s recommendations would result in a positive fiscal impact to the state of about $2.9 million over the next five fiscal years.  

A complete summary of Sunset’s work is contained in the Report to the 85th Legislature. This information is a guide to the introduced version of the Sunset bills of each agency under review, listed in the chart below.  Generally, these bills go through normal processes in the House and Senate, and must be enacted by the Legislature for the agencies to continue. 

The public can participate in the legislative process on Sunset bills in the same way as any other legislation, through hearings in the Senate and House and contacting legislators who vote on the bills. You may follow the progress of Sunset legislation by clicking the bill numbers below, which link to up-to-date information posted on Texas Legislature Online, a service of the Texas Legislative Council.

Note:  Chart will be updated as bills are filed.

Sunset Bills — 85th Legislature

Senate Bill (Author)
House Bill (Author)
Sunset Staff Contact
State Bar of Texas
S.B. 302 (Watson)
H.B. 2102 (Thompson, S.)
Katharine Teleki

Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council

S.B. 311 (Hinojosa)
H.B. 2898 (Gonzales, L.)
Robert Romig
Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
S.B. 304 (Taylor, V.)
H.B. 2547 (Raymond)
Carissa Nash
State Board of Dental Examiners
S.B. 313 (Schwertner)
H.B. 2990 (Burkett)
Sarah Kirkle
Board of Trustees of Employees Retirement System of Texas
S.B. 301 (Watson)
H.B. 2459 (Flynn)
Emily Johnson
Board of Law Examiners
S.B. 303 (Watson)
H.B. 2103 (Thompson, S.)
Kay Hricik
Texas Medical Board
S.B. 315 (Hinojosa)
H.B. 3040 (Burkett)
Erick Fajardo
Texas Board of Nursing
S.B. 305 (Hinojosa)
H.B. 2950 (Burkett)
Skylar Wilk
Texas Optometry Board
S.B. 314 (Schwertner)
H.B. 3012 (Flynn)
Kay Hricik
Palo Duro River Authority of Texas
S.B. 309 (Nichols)
H.B. 1920 (Flynn)
Sarah Kirkle
Texas State Board of Pharmacy
S.B. 306 (Taylor, V.)
H.B. 2561 (Thompson, S.)
Steven Ogle
Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners
Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
S.B. 317 (Nichols)
H.B. 3210 (Gonzales, L.)
Erick Fajardo
Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners
S.B. 318 (Schwertner)
H.B. 3078 (Thompson, S.)
Kay Hricik
Railroad Commission of Texas
S.B. 300 (Taylor, V.)
H.B. 1818 (Gonzales, L.)
Amy Trost
Sulphur River Basin Authority
S.B. 308 (Nichols)
H.B. 2180 (Flynn)
Sarah Kirkle
Texas Department of Transportation
S.B. 312 (Nichols)
H.B. 3207 (Gonzales, L.)
Amy Tripp
Upper Colorado River Authority
S.B 307 (Nichols)
H.B. 1921 (Flynn)
Sarah Kirle
State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
S.B. 319 (Watson)
H.B. 2967 (Raymond)
Danielle Nasr