Sunset Commission Member Appointments

The Speaker of the House appoints new members to the Sunset Advisory Commission, see members.

Press Release May 30, 2019


May 30, 2019

AUSTIN, TX – The Texas Sunset Advisory Commission has appointed Jennifer Grossenbacher Jones as the legislative agency’s executive director, effective May 27, 2019. Jones, the agency’s first female executive director, has served as acting director since September 2018, when former director Ken Levine retired.

“Jennifer has performed her duties as acting director at an extremely high level, and we have no doubt she will continue to be tactically and technically proficient while serving the Sunset Commission and leading the agency,” said Senator Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury), Chairman of the Sunset Commission.

Jones has worked for the Texas Legislature for nearly 30 years, beginning her legislative career as a Senate messenger in 1990. She joined Sunset in 1993 and held positions as policy analyst, senior policy analyst, and assistant director before being named deputy director in 2013. She has managed and supervised Sunset reviews in major policy areas across state government, including transportation, health and human services, business and economic development, public safety and criminal justice, and education.

“I am deeply honored by this appointment and I look forward to serving the Sunset Commission and leading our talented staff in identifying ways to improve efficiency and effectiveness in Texas state government,” Jones said.

Also a leader in public policy on the national stage, Jones currently serves on the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) Executive Committee, Legislative Staff Coordinating Committee, and Natural Resources and Infrastructure Standing Committee.

Jones is a native Texan with a master’s degree in public administration from Texas State University and a bachelor of arts degree in English from The University of Texas at Austin.