You are here

Texas Education Agency (TEA)

    • Next Review Date: 2024-2025 Review Cycle - 89th Legislative Session
    • Last Review Date: 2014-2015 Review Cycle - 84th Legislative Session

    Sunset Review Documents for 2014-2015 Review Cycle, 84th Legislative Session

    Final Results from Last Sunset Report

    The following material summarizes results of the Sunset review of TEA, including management actions directed to the agency that do not require statutory change. For additional information see the Texas Education Agency Staff Report with Final Results.

    Continuation

    • Continues TEA until 2025. (H.B. 3123)

    Driver Training

    • Transfers the regulation of private driver training from TEA to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. (H.B. 1786)
    • Transfers the parent-taught driver education program from the Department of Public Safety to TDLR. (H.B. 1786)
    • Requires the Commission of Licensing and Regulation to establish an advisory committee to provide technical expertise from the driver training industry. (H.B. 1786)
    • Removes the statutory requirement to license driver training school directors, assistant directors, and administrative staff. (H.B. 1786)
    • Removes fixed driver training fee amounts and fee caps from statute. (H.B. 1786)
    • Requires TDLR to maintain information on driver training complaints. (H.B. 1786)

    Increases the driver training program’s maximum administrative penalty from $1,000 to $5,000 per day, per violation. (H.B. 1786)

    Requires TDLR to use the State Office of Administrative Hearings to conduct hearings on driver training enforcement cases. (H.B. 1786)

    TEA and TDLR should develop a transition plan for the transfer of driver training regulation. (management action – nonstatutory)

    TDLR should develop performance measures that help ensure driver training complaint investigations are resolved in a timely manner. (management action – nonstatutory)

    TDLR should make public final driver training school disciplinary orders and sanctions on its website. (management action – nonstatutory)

    Educator Certification

    • Requires charter school directors to meet the same certified educator misconduct reporting and investigation requirements as superintendents. (H.B. 1783)
    • Requires superintendents and charter school directors to report any termination or resignation based on evidence that the certified educator solicited or engaged in sexual conduct or was involved in a romantic relationship with a student or minor. (H.B. 1783)
    • Grants the commissioner administrative subpoena power to fully investigate certified educator misconduct cases. (H.B. 2205)

    Educator Preparation Program Regulation

    • Establishes a five-year renewal process for educator preparation programs (EPPs) in statute. (H.B. 2205)
    • Requires the State Board for Educator Certification to adopt rules to make information about how to file a complaint about an EPP accessible to EPP students and the public. (H.B. 2205)
    • Requires the State Board for Educator Certification to establish a comprehensive risk-assessment model to guide the monitoring of EPPs. (H.B. 2205)
    • Strengthens and clarifies the State Board for Educator Certification’s authority to sanction EPPs for violations of laws or rules. (H.B. 2205)

    Contracting

    • TEA should provide comprehensive information online about the student assessment procurement process and contracts to improve transparency. (management action – nonstatutory)
    • TEA should allow sufficient time for vendors to submit proposals for major contracts. (management action – nonstatutory)
    • TEA should provide more centralized contract oversight and develop monitoring plans for all major contracts. (management action – nonstatutory)