
From: Sunset Advisory Commission
To: Janet Wood
Subject: FW: Public Input Form for Agencies Under Review (Public/After Publication)
Date: Friday, June 10, 2016 8:19:02 AM

-----Original Message-----
From: sundrupal@capitol.local [mailto:sundrupal@capitol.local]
Sent: Thursday, June 09, 2016 6:40 PM
To: Sunset Advisory Commission
Subject: Public Input Form for Agencies Under Review (Public/After Publication)

Agency: TEXAS BOARD PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS

First Name: Kim

Last Name: Wright

Title:

Organization you are affiliated with:

Email: 

City: Houston

State: Texas

Your Comments About the Staff Report, Including Recommendations Supported or
Opposed:
As a member of the public and as a Texas and Colorado licensed physical therapist, I would like to inform the
 Sunset Commission that I support the discontinuation of registration of PT/OT facilities and the 2 year authority of
 the Boards to expunge any disciplinary action upon a licensee who practiced in an unregistered facility. I would
 also like to add to this a closely related matter that the PT Board refers to in issue 9 of the self-evaluation report.  I
 strongly support the PT Board’s decision to request to obtain authority to expunge disciplinary actions that resulted
 from minor administrative violations from a licensee’s record. The Board should be allowed to make changes to the
 investigation and disposition procedures. Having an antiquated process that does not allow for some objective
 “consideration” in the individual situation does not dutifully serve the professionals or the public. Rigid disciplinary
 actions such, as a license suspension, for a minor first time administrative, clerical or other
non- direct patient care infraction can limit a licensee’s future professional opportunities if it remains on their record
 the rest of their career.  If a minor infraction did not cause harm to a patient and the issue does not provide a risk to
 the public if the licensee continued to practice, then it should not receive a disciplinary action that becomes a
 permanent part of a licensee’s record. There needs to be an outlined procedure in place for the licensee to apply for
 expunction of the disciplinary action from their record. I support the criteria outlined in Board’s self- evaluation
 report, section C (1-3). In Section C (4) it states a 5 year waiting period before a licensee can apply for expunction.
 I support a 2 year waiting period since we are referring to minor, first time infractions.
I also support a Texas law recognizing interstate Physical Therapy licensure compacts with other qualified
 participating states. It would support today’s needs to be mobile across state lines for work and for the much needed
 opportunities in PT telemedicine in under served states.

Any Alternative or New Recommendations on This Agency: Self-Evaluation Report
- Issue 9 - Texas PT Board requesting authority to expunge administrative violations from a licensee's record and
 changes to investigation and disposition procedures.  I agree with the discussion points and possible solutions and
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 impact in section C. However for number 4, I would change the time frame from 5 years down to  2 years. This is
 because the Board is speaking about expunging minor violations that did not harm any patient or cause public
 danger.

My Comment Will Be Made Public: I agree




