From:	Elizabeth Jones
To:	Trisha Linebarger
Subject:	FW: Public Input Form for Agencies Under Review (Public/After Publication)
Date:	Thursday, June 25, 2020 8:49:04 PM

From: sunset@sunset.texas.govOn Behalf OfTexas Sunset Commission Sent: Thursday, June 25, 2020 8:42:48 PM (UTC-06:00) Central Time (US & Canada) To: Sunset Advisory Commission Subject: Public Input Form for Agencies Under Review (Public/After Publication)

Agency: TEXAS DEPARTMENT LICENSING AND REGULATION

First Name: Erin

Last Name: Poff

Title: Education Coordinator & Senior Instructor

Organization you are affiliated with: Bella Beauty College

Email:

City: Austin. San Antonio. Corpus Christi. Wacoz

State: Texas

Your Comments About the Staff Report, Including Recommendations Supported or

Opposed:

Opposed to the elimination of the Instructor license for Cosmetology, Manicuring, Esthetician et al Eliminating Cosmetology and Barbering Instructor licenses is a serious mistake.

This profession requires a high level of knowledge in technical skills, SANITATION, public safety, chemicals and interpersonal skills needed for success in the industry.

The required hours for Cosmetology

have already been reduced, and now more than ever, QUALIFIED instructors are needed to give the prospective stylists and technicians the training and instruction needed to be successful in this industry. As much as the national salon chain owners want you to believe that they can do it all and train from point 0 what schools are currently teaching without the instructor training or teaching certificate. The national salon chains are training already licensed individuals, trained in cosmetology and barber schools. They are building on the basics, but not actually teaching the basics which is a different animal. It is impossible to teach in a harried salon environment the basics of cosmetology, barbering, esthetics and manicuring. It takes patience and time and the knowledge of teaching to train an individual from 0 experience. Just because you can cut hair does not mean you are trained to teach students with different learning styles & learning disabilities. The instructor program and curriculum provides a minimum standard for those who wish to teach in the industry. Understanding lesson plans and how to write them and utilize them. Understanding different teaching approaches, classroom management, various testing methods etc are all essential to the training received in this current license. It would be the equivalent of saying it's fine for a recent high school graduate to begin teaching at the college level immediately with no training.

Opening the door for anyone licensed to also teach and complete a TDLR program in instructing or the equivalent would be a thoughtless mistake on the part of any legislator. The public doesn't want or need less qualified and prepared stylists. Safety first. Knowledge and training. We don't want the next pandemic starting in Texas salons.

Any Alternative or New Recommendations on This Agency:

a) retain the instructor license as it exists

b) offer a lesser hour program, 250 hours, for those with an existing cos, barber, mani, esth, license. this would take about 1.5 months to complete full time or 3 months part time.

c) allow those with a teaching certificate from a university program to take the written and practical exams without

clocking the hours

d) as currently allowed a bachelors in education would suffice for training and license could be issued as long as also hold a cos, barber, esth, mani or mani/esth license.

My Comment Will Be Made Public: I agree