
TEXAS WATER CODE § 12.052 (RELATING TO DAM SAFETY) 

Sec. 12.052. DAM SAFETY. (a) The commission shall make and enforce rules and orders and 
shall perform all other acts necessary to provide for the safe construction, maintenance, repair, and 
removal ofdams located in this state. 

(b) Rules and orders made by the commission shall be made after proper notice and hearing as 
provided in the rules of the commission. 

(c) If the owner ofa dam that is required to be constructed, reconstructed, repaired, or removed in 
order to comply with the rules and orders promulgated under Subsection (a) of this section wilfully 
fails or refuses to comply within the 30-day period following the date ofthe commission's final, 
nonappealable order to do so or ifa person wilfully fails to comply with any rule or other order 
issued by the commission under this section within the 30-day period following the effective date of 
the order, he is liable to a penalty ofnot more than $5,000 a day for each day he continues to violate 
this section. The state may recover the penalty by suit brought for that purpose in the district court of 
Travis County. 

(d) If the commission detemlines that the existing condition ofthe dam is creating or will cause 
extensive or severe property damage or economic loss to others or is posing an immediate and 
serious threat to human life or health and that other procedures available to the commission to 
remedy or prevent the occurrence ofthe situation will result in unreasonable delay, the commission 
may issue an emergency order, either mandatory or prohibitory in nature, directing the owner ofa 
dam to repair, modify, maintain, dewater, or remove the dam which the commission detennines is 
unsafe. The emergency order may be issued without notice to the dam owner or with notice the 
commission considers practicable under the circumstances. The notice does not have to comply with 
Chapter 2001, Government Code. 

(e) If the commission issues an emergency order under authority ofthis section without notice to the 
dam owner, the commission shall fix a time and place for a hearing which shall be held as soon as 
practicable to affirm, modify, or set aside the emergency order. The notice does not have to comply 
with Chapter 2001, Government Code. If the nature ofthe commission's action requires further 
proceedings, those proceedings shall be conducted as appropriate under the Administrative Procedure 
and Texas Register Act, as amended (Article 6252-13a, Venlon's Texas Civil Statutes). 

1....-_. (f) The owner. operator or lessee ofa permitted or exempt dam having a maximum storage capacity 
of less than D.0001 [5.000] acre-feet that was substantially completed prior to Januarv 1.2009 shall 
not be required to upgrade such dam and its spillway or otherwise meet revised design flood 
hydro graph criteria pursuant to commission rules made effective on or after such date. and is not 
subject to any penalties under this section based upon revised design flood hydro graph criteria or 
subsequent downstream development. Such owner. operator or lessee shall otherwise operate and 
maintain the dam in accordance with commission rules. Nothing in this section or in rules or orders 
made by the commission shall be construed to relieve an owner~ ef!=Operator or lessee of a dam or 
reservoir of~~legal duties, obligations, or liabilities incident to ownership or operation under 
the common law of the State ofTexas. 

Anlended by Acts 1977, 65th Leg., p. 2207, ch. 870, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1977; Acts 1981, 67th Leg., 
p. 3150, ch. 828, Sec. 1, eff. June 17, 1981; Acts 1985, 69th Leg., ch. 795, Sec. 1.033, efT. Sept. 1, 
1985; Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 76, Sec. 5.95(63), eff. Sept. 1, 1995; Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1010, 
Sec. 3.04, efT. Sept. 1, 1997. 
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